Kansas School Board Member Appreciation 2020

Nemaha Central Board Members Leading for Success


January is School Board Recognition Month, a great opportunity to say thank you to the Nemaha Central Board of Education who are committed to the success of every student in our community. 


Our board of education includes President Jason Hammes, Vice President Owen Zinke, Amy Huerter, John V. Deters, Joe Reitz, David Clements.


These six community leaders volunteer hundreds of hours attending meetings, reading reports and discussing plans and programs to support educational achievement.


“Our board members develop policies and make complex decisions that shape the future of our education system. They are accountable for an annual budget of $5 million, 600 students, 100 employees and 2 buildings,” said Darrel Kohlman, Superintendent.  

A board member’s responsibility goes far behind the monthly meeting, however.


“They also meet with legislators and other policy makers to advocate for our schools to make sure every child has access to an excellent education. We are grateful to have this opportunity to formally say ‘thank you’ to each of them,” said Kohlman.


Nemaha Central encourages the entire community to thank a school board member, not only this month but throughout the entire year.


# # #